Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Treasurer’s Office

The County Treasurer is an elected position, serving a term of 4 years. The County Treasurer’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Handling the financial transactions associated with County government, such as accounts payable, accounts receivables and payroll.
  • Investing the County’s assets and balancing the funds and accounts.
  • Collecting property and mobile home taxes and distributing them to the proper taxing bodies.
  • It is the duty of the County Treasurer to invest and reinvest any funds. Investment objectives are safety of principal, liquidity, and maximum rate of return.
  • The County Collector prepares bills and receipts for the purpose of tax collection of real estate, drainage and mobile home taxes within the county.
  • Upon receipt of the tax monies the County Collector proceeds to disburse these funds to the taxing districts. Tax collection funds are kept in interest-bearing accounts. The interest earned on these accounts is disbursed to the various taxing districts proportional to the amount of tax collected for them.
  • The County Collector holds a tax sale at the end of every tax year to sell the tax on every parcel that remains unpaid.
  • The Treasurer collects and distributes, as required, transfers of monies from the state. These transfers include in part; sales tax, supplemental sales tax, income tax, income tax surcharge, salary reimbursement, replacement tax, inheritance tax, emergency management assistance program monies and motor fuel tax.

General Tax Information

The County Treasurer shall receive and safely keep the revenues and other public monies of the county, and all money and funds authorized by law be paid to them, and disburse the same pursuant to law. The County Treasurer must keep a record of all such funds and report monthly to the County Board the balances of these funds. The County Collector prepares bills for the purpose of tax collection of real estate, drainage, and mobile home taxes within Bureau County. Your total real estate tax bill is payable in two installments. You will only receive one bill. Partial payments will not be accepted. Failure to receive a tax bill or receiving one late, for any reason, will not relieve taxpayer from paying taxes or late penalties. If a mortgage company is to pay your bill, it is your responsibility to contact them. If you receive a bill for a property you no longer own, please promptly return it to the Treasurer’s Office.

Only check or cash are accepted in the Treasurer’s Office. To make a payment with a debit/credit card or e-check please visit Illinois ePAY here. If mailing payments, a postmark showing the due date is acceptable to avoid late penalty. Make checks payable to “Bureau County Collector.” Cancelled check will serve as receipt. If additional receipt is needed, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Mail payments to the address below:

Bureau County Collector
700 S. Main St. – Room 103
Princeton, IL 61356

Payment made after the installment due date will accrue 1.5% interest per installment per month. Please refer to the “Late Payment Schedule” on the tax bill installment coupons if making a payment past the due date. Payments that do not include late fees will be returned. An additional $10.00 fee will be added to any unpaid taxes after the second installment due date for the cost of publication and mailing of certified delinquent notices. After notices have been mailed, payment will only be accepted in the form of certified funds – i.e. cashier’s check, money order, or cash. NO personal or business checks will be accepted.

For general property tax information, please visit


Opening hours

  • Sunday
  • Monday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Tuesday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Wednesday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Thursday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Friday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Saturday